How to Factory Reset NETGEAR Router In Easy Steps

Today’s article will show you how to reset your NETGEAR router with simple, quick and easy steps.

Factory resetting your router is an easy way to fix problems like forgotten passwords or slow Wi-Fi speeds. This process will erase all data on your router and restore it to its default settings. To make this work, you need to access the admin panel of your router.

NETGEAR route format comes with the root install button, which can be used to restore the device to default settings. If you haven’t already factory reset your router, you can still reset it using factory reset using the methods below.

What is a Netgear router?

Netgear routers are a type of network device that allow an individual to share a broadband internet connection with many devices. A Netgear router provides the bridge between the user’s modem and their home network.

Once the router is set up, users can connect to the internet from any device in their home including their computer, phone, or tablet. Netgear routers come in many different shapes and sizes, with a variety of features to fit the needs of each individual household.

The Benefits of Resetting a Netgear Router

Resetting a NetGear router to the factory settings will remove the remote administration and setup, returning it to its default configuration. Resetting a Netgear wireless router comes with some benefits which are:

  1. Secure your Home Router with your own admin unchallenged
  2. Protect Family Confidential Data from cyber-thieves
  3. Fix remote access login errors when using WPA/WPA2 encryption or public key authentication.

Instructions for Reset Netgear Router

Netgear is a fairly commonly used wireless router on the market today. With flexible and convenient functions, Netgear always gives its customers the best experience and satisfaction when using.

You can completely reinstall your Netgear router in case of technical problems, forgotten password or won’t start, etc.

There are 2 ways that you can perform a factory reset of your NETGEAR router yourself at home. Specifically:

Use Factory Restart Button

The easiest way to reset your Netgear router back to its default state is to use the reset button on the back of the router.

  1. Make sure your router’s power light is still on.
  2. You find on the back of the router there will be a small button that is the button to help restore the router’s factory settings.
  3. Press and hold that button for about 10-15 seconds with a paper clip or needle to return the settings to factory defaults.
  4. Your router will be reset to factory defaults. To log in, rely on the default information printed on the back of the router.

The following video will show the steps:

Restore default settings from Website

It’s easy to reset your NETGEAR router on the web. Here are the simple steps on how to reset your NETGEAR router:

  1. Connect the computer to the router with an Ethernet cable.
  2. Open the web browser on your computer and type in the IP address of the router, which is 192.168.1.1 in most cases.
  3. Enter “admin” as the username and “password” as password, then click “OK” button at the bottom of the login window.
  4. Select “Restore Factory Defaults” from Advanced Settings page and click “Yes” button next to it.

Unable to complete router reset?

As we said above, Netgear router is a popular Modem device used to connect wireless Internet devices. In case of an error when connecting, even though you have fully performed the above adjustments, but cannot successfully complete the router reset, what should you do?

  • Join the community of NETGEAR users to find solutions to your problems.
  • Contact service providers through media channels.
  • Call, email customer service for support about the case you are having.

Conclude

That’s it, you can factory reset your Netgear router with just a few simple steps when something goes wrong. Hope this is useful information for you.